Elementary Dutch course (A0 → A2)

Level: Beginner (0/A2)

This Dutch beginners course covers the four skills listening, reading, writing and speaking. In addition, we will look at the basics of Dutch grammar and Dutch vocabulary. In this course, you will work towards language level A2.

975,-

Register

Starting from 24 June 2024

+ 10 more dates

About the course

In the Beginners Dutch course (A2) you learn, step by step, to understand the Dutch language and culture. We start with the basics, such as greetings and forms of address, and gradually build up to the level at which you can hold a conversation with strangers.

You practise the following subjects, among others:

  • listening, reading, writing and speaking;
  • basic grammar and a basic vocabulary of Dutch.

In this course, you will work towards language level A2. You don’t need any previous knowledge of Dutch.

DUO loan?

Are you entitled to a loan from the DUO (Educational Administration Service) to help pay for your Dutch course? Then you need to have an intake interview with a teacher first. This page gives more information about registering for a course with a DUO loan. Here you can sign up for an intake interview.

Register

Learning goals

In this course you will work towards language level A2.

At the end of this course you will be able to:

  • understand sentences and frequently used expressions that are related to daily life.
  • communicate in simple and every-day tasks.
  • use simple words to describe aspects of your own background, your immediate surroundings and your needs and desires.

Register

Method

  • Different competences will be discussed during the classes. Assignments will be made in class, in groups, pairs or individually. More information about the course programme, homework and suggestions for additional online exercises will be published on the electronic learning environment.
  • In this course we use the book ‘De opmaat‘. This book is developed by our teachers Maud and Wim for highly educated people who want to learn Dutch as a second language.
  • You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.

Register

Time Investment

  • This course consists of 34 sessions of 1 hour and 45 minutes at Babel in Utrecht or in the virtual classroom.
  • To make sure you learn as much as possible from the classes, you should expect to spend approximately 8 hours per week on study and the completion of materials and assignments, which will be discussed during the classes.

Register

Practical

  • The teacher will speak Dutch as much as possible. You can ask questions in English or in Dutch.
  • You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please make sure you bring your books to the first session.
  • You will receive a certificate if you attend at least 80% of the classes.
  • If you work or study at Utrecht University you will receive a 15% discount. Please register with your UU email address. Your registration will then be processed automatically.

Register

Schedule

  • Starting date: 24 June 2024 (Virtual Classroom)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 24 June 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 26 June 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 1 July 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 3 July 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 8 July 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 10 July 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 15 July 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 17 July 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 22 July 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 24 July 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 29 July 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 31 July 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 5 August 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 7 August 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 12 August 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 19 August 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 21 August 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 2 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 4 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 9 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 11 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 16 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 18 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 23 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 25 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 30 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 2 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 7 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 9 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 14 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 16 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 21 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 23 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 28 October 2024 13:15 15:00

    Register

  • Starting date: 25 June 2024 (Utrecht)
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 25 June 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 27 June 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 2 July 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 4 July 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 9 July 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 11 July 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 16 July 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 18 July 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 23 July 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 25 July 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 30 July 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 1 August 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 6 August 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 8 August 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 13 August 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 15 August 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 20 August 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 22 August 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 3 September 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 5 September 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 10 September 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 12 September 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 17 September 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 19 September 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 24 September 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 26 September 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 1 October 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 3 October 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 8 October 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 10 October 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 15 October 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 17 October 2024 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 22 October 2024 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 24 October 2024 09:00 10:45

    Register

  • Starting date: 25 June 2024 (Utrecht)
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 25 June 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 27 June 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 2 July 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 4 July 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 9 July 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 11 July 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 16 July 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 18 July 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 23 July 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 25 July 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 30 July 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 1 August 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 6 August 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 8 August 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 13 August 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 15 August 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 27 August 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 29 August 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 3 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 5 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 10 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 12 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 17 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 19 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 24 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 26 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 1 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 3 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 8 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 10 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 15 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 17 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 22 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 24 October 2024 18:00 19:45

    Register

  • Starting date: 2 September 2024 (Utrecht)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 2 September 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 4 September 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 9 September 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 11 September 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 16 September 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 18 September 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 23 September 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 25 September 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 30 September 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 2 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 7 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 9 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 14 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 16 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 21 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 23 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 28 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 30 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 11 November 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 13 November 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 18 November 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 20 November 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 25 November 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 27 November 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 2 December 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 4 December 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 9 December 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 11 December 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 16 December 2024 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 18 December 2024 15:15 17:00
    Monday 6 January 2025 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 8 January 2025 15:15 17:00
    Monday 13 January 2025 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 15 January 2025 15:15 17:00

    Register

  • Starting date: 2 September 2024 (Virtual Classroom)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 2 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 4 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 9 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 11 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 16 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 18 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 23 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 25 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 30 September 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 2 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 7 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 9 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 14 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 16 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 21 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 23 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 28 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 30 October 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 11 November 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 13 November 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 18 November 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 20 November 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 25 November 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 27 November 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 2 December 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 4 December 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 9 December 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 11 December 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 16 December 2024 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 18 December 2024 13:15 15:00
    Monday 6 January 2025 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 8 January 2025 13:15 15:00
    Monday 13 January 2025 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 15 January 2025 13:15 15:00

    Register

  • Starting date: 2 September 2024 (Virtual Classroom)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 2 September 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 4 September 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 9 September 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 11 September 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 16 September 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 18 September 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 23 September 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 25 September 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 30 September 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 2 October 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 7 October 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 9 October 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 14 October 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 16 October 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 21 October 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 23 October 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 28 October 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 30 October 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 11 November 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 13 November 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 18 November 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 20 November 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 25 November 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 27 November 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 2 December 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 4 December 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 9 December 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 11 December 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 16 December 2024 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 18 December 2024 20:00 21:45
    Monday 6 January 2025 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 8 January 2025 20:00 21:45
    Monday 13 January 2025 20:00 21:45
    Wednesday 15 January 2025 20:00 21:45

    Register

  • Starting date: 3 September 2024 (Utrecht)
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 3 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 5 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 10 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 12 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 17 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 19 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 24 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 26 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 1 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 3 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 8 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 10 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 15 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 17 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 22 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 24 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 29 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 31 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 12 November 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 14 November 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 19 November 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 21 November 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 26 November 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 28 November 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 3 December 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 5 December 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 10 December 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 12 December 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 17 December 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 19 December 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 7 January 2025 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 9 January 2025 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 14 January 2025 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 16 January 2025 18:00 19:45

    Register

  • Starting date: 3 September 2024 (Virtual Classroom)
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 3 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 5 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 10 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 12 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 17 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 19 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 24 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 26 September 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 1 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 3 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 8 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 10 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 15 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 17 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 22 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 24 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 29 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 31 October 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 12 November 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 14 November 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 19 November 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 21 November 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 26 November 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 28 November 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 3 December 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 5 December 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 10 December 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 12 December 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 17 December 2024 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 19 December 2024 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 7 January 2025 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 9 January 2025 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 14 January 2025 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 16 January 2025 18:00 19:45

    Register

  • Starting date: 4 September 2024 (Utrecht)
    Day Date Start End
    Wednesday 4 September 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 6 September 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 11 September 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 13 September 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 18 September 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 20 September 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 25 September 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 27 September 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 2 October 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 4 October 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 9 October 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 11 October 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 16 October 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 18 October 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 23 October 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 25 October 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 30 October 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 1 November 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 13 November 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 15 November 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 20 November 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 22 November 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 27 November 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 29 November 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 4 December 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 6 December 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 11 December 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 13 December 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 18 December 2024 11:00 12:45
    Friday 20 December 2024 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 8 January 2025 11:00 12:45
    Friday 10 January 2025 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 15 January 2025 11:00 12:45
    Friday 17 January 2025 11:00 12:45

    Register

  • Starting date: 15 October 2024 (Virtual Classroom)
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 15 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 17 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 22 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 24 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 29 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 31 October 2024 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 5 November 2024 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 7 November 2024 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 12 November 2024 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 14 November 2024 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 19 November 2024 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 21 November 2024 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 26 November 2024 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 28 November 2024 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 3 December 2024 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 5 December 2024 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 10 December 2024 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 12 December 2024 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 17 December 2024 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 19 December 2024 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 7 January 2025 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 9 January 2025 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 14 January 2025 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 16 January 2025 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 21 January 2025 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 23 January 2025 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 28 January 2025 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 30 January 2025 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 4 February 2025 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 6 February 2025 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 11 February 2025 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 13 February 2025 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 18 February 2025 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 20 February 2025 15:15 17:00

    Register