Elementary Dutch – intensive course (A2)

Level: Beginner (0/A2)

This beginner course covers the four skills listening, reading, writing and speaking. In addition, we will look at the basics of Dutch grammar and Dutch vocabulary. In this course, you work towards language level A2. You have 4 classes a week, instead of two in the regular course.

880,-

Register

Starting from 5 September 2022

+ 4 more dates

About the course

In the Beginners Dutch course (A2) you learn, step by step, to understand the Dutch language and culture. We start with the basics, such as greetings and forms of address, and gradually build up to the level at which you can hold a conversation with strangers.

You practise the following subjects, among others:

  • listening, reading, writing and speaking.
  • basic grammar and a basic vocabulary of Dutch.

In this course you work towards language level A2. You don’t need any previous knowledge of Dutch.

DUO loan?

Are you entitled to a loan from the DUO (Educational Administration Service) to help pay for your Dutch course? Then you need to have an intake interview with a teacher first. This page gives more information about registering for a course with a DUO loan. Here you can sign up for an intake interview.

Register

Learning goals

In this course you work towards language level A2.

At the end of this course, you are able to:

  • understand sentences and frequently used expressions that are related to daily life (such as personal data, relatives, shopping, work).
  • communicate in simple and every-day tasks.
  • use simple words to describe aspects of your own background, your immediate surroundings and your needs and desires.

Register

Method

  • Different competences will be discussed during the classes. Assignments will be made in class, in groups, pairs or individually.
  • More information about the course programme, homework and suggestions for additional online exercises will be published on the electronic learning environment.

Register

Time Investment

  • This course consists of 34 sessions of 1 hour and 45 minutes at Babel in Utrecht or in the virtual classroom.
  • The advised self-study load is 90 hours.

Register

Practical

  • The language of instruction is Dutch.
  • You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.
  • Participants should attend at least 80% of meetings. At the end of the first half of the course, there will be listening, reading, writing and speaking tests. In addition there will be a final test on speaking and writing.
  • If you work or study at Utrecht University you will receive a 15% discount. Please register with your UU email address. Your registration will then be processed automatically.

Register

Schedule

  • Starting date: 5 September 2022 (Utrecht)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 5 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 6 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 8 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 9 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 12 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 13 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 15 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 16 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 19 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 20 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 22 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 23 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 26 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 27 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 29 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 30 September 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 3 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 4 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 6 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 7 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 10 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 11 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 13 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 14 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 17 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 18 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 20 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 21 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 24 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 25 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 27 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 28 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 31 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 1 November 2022 11:00 12:45

    Register

  • Starting date: 5 September 2022 (Virtual Classroom)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 5 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 6 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 7 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 9 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 12 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 13 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 14 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 16 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 19 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 20 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 21 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 23 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 26 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 27 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 28 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 30 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 3 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 4 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 5 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 7 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 10 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 11 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 12 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 14 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 17 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 18 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 19 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 21 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 24 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 25 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 26 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 28 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 31 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 1 November 2022 13:15 15:00

    Register

  • Starting date: 3 October 2022 (Utrecht)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 3 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 4 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 6 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 7 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 10 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 11 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 13 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 14 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 17 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 18 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 20 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 21 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 24 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 25 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 27 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 28 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 31 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 1 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 3 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 4 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 14 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 15 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 17 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 18 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 21 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 22 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 24 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 25 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 28 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 29 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 1 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 2 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 5 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 6 December 2022 13:15 15:00

    Register

  • Starting date: 14 November 2022 (Utrecht)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 14 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 15 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 17 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Friday 18 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Monday 21 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 22 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 24 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Friday 25 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Monday 28 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 29 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 1 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Friday 2 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Monday 5 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 6 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 8 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Friday 9 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Monday 12 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 13 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 15 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Friday 16 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Monday 19 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 20 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 22 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Friday 23 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Monday 2 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 3 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 5 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Friday 6 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Monday 9 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 10 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 12 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Friday 13 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Monday 16 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 17 January 2023 15:15 17:00

    Register

  • Starting date: 14 November 2022 (Virtual Classroom)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 14 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 15 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 17 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 18 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 21 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 22 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 24 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 25 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 28 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 29 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 1 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 2 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 5 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 6 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 8 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 9 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 12 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 13 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 15 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 16 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 19 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 20 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 22 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 23 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 2 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 3 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 5 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Friday 6 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Monday 9 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 10 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 12 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Friday 13 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Monday 16 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 17 January 2023 13:15 15:00

    Register

Do the free testTest your language level

Would you like to know your current language level? Babel offers a free language placement test! You will receive personal advice from one of our teachers about your current level and which language course suits you best.