Preparation course State Exam NT2 I

This intermediate course aims at preparing you for the State Exam NT2 programme I.

 

€445,00

Sign up

Starting from 12 November 2018

About the Preparation course State Exam NT2 I course

Dutch state exam

The programme I certificate is sufficient if you are not in a senior or management position or if you are planning to attend a Dutch school of Lower or Intermediate Vocational Education (MBO). It is also accepted as an official exam to meet the Dutch naturalization (inburgering) requirements.

The four language skills (listening, reading, writing and speaking) are extensively practised on the basis of tasks in the course book ‘Vooruit, voorbereiding op het Staatsexamen NT2 I’. In addition, during the course you will prepare for the exam using model exams. The course will take place at our institute in Utrecht.

State Exam NT2 programme I is at a lower level than State exam NT2 programme II. Programme II is required if you want to study or work at a Dutch university, a Dutch Polytechnics or college of Higher Vocational Education, or if you have a senior or management position. If you want to prepare for State Exam programme II, you can do the Preparation course State exam NT2 II.

DUO loan?
Are you entitled to a loan from the DUO (Educational Administration Service) to help pay for your Dutch course? And this is your first course at Babel? Then you need to have an intake interview with a teacher and do a placement test. This page gives more information about registering for a course with a DUO student loan. Here you can sign up for an intake interview.

 

Sign up

Learning goals

You may join this Preparation course State Exam NT2 I if you have reached B1 language level. You have to assess your language level. This can be done by means of the online placement test.

This course is suitable for students who are in possession of:

  • A certificate of a completed course on intermediate level (B1)
  • CEF-score, at least level B1 for language structure, writing and self-assessment
  • Intake test with advice level B2.

Participants will become familiar with the level and content of the State Exam NT2 programme I. They will have sufficient practice in the four language skills to be well prepared for the exam. During the course, participants will be given feedback on the speaking and writing tasks in addition to being given suggestions and advice on how to deal with the reading and listening tasks. Students will be also advised on how to enlarge their vocabulary and improve their general language level.

 

Sign up

Method

Classroom sessions will include pair or group work, or individually assignments.

You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session. Supplementary material (model exams) will be provided by the teacher during the course.

Participants are expected to do homework for the reading, listening and writing skills. The teacher will correct the students’ writing tasks. Furthermore, an answer key to the reading and listening tasks is provided on the book website.

 

Sign up

Time Investment

This Preparation course State Exam NT2 I course consists of 16 sessions (8 weeks, 2 sessions of 1.45 hours per week). The advised self-study load is 50 hours (approx. 3 hours per session).

 

Sign up

Practical

The language of instruction is Dutch.

You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session. Supplementary material (model exams) will be provided by the teacher during the course.

Participants should attend at least 80% of the meetings. Since the aim of the course is to prepare you for the official State exam, the course itself does not have a final test. However, the model exam tasks handed in will be corrected and assessed by the teacher. The students can then judge for themselves whether their level is sufficient at the end of the course to be able to take the exam.

If you work or study at Utrecht University you will receive a 25% discount.

 

 

Sign up

  • Starting date: 12 November 2018
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 12 November 2018 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 14 November 2018 15:15 17:00
    Monday 19 November 2018 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 21 November 2018 15:15 17:00
    Monday 26 November 2018 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 28 November 2018 15:15 17:00
    Monday 3 December 2018 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 5 December 2018 15:15 17:00
    Monday 10 December 2018 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 12 December 2018 15:15 17:00
    Monday 17 December 2018 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 19 December 2018 15:15 17:00
    Monday 7 January 2019 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 9 January 2019 15:15 17:00
    Monday 14 January 2019 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 16 January 2019 15:15 17:00

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 4 February 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 4 February 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 6 February 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 11 February 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 13 February 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 18 February 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 20 February 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 25 February 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 27 February 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 4 March 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 6 March 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 11 March 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 13 March 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 18 March 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 20 March 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 25 March 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 27 March 2019 13:15 15:00

    Sign up