Upper-Intermediate Dutch (B2)

This advanced course prepares you for the Staatsexamen NT2 programma 2. It deals with the four skills listening, reading, writing and speaking, and there will be time to repeat and expand your knowledge of grammar and vocabulary.

€730,00

Sign up

Starting from 2 July 2019

About the Upper-Intermediate Dutch: Intensive Course (B2) course

Learn Dutch Utrecht

This Upper-Intermediate Dutch (B2) course is aimed to those who wish to achieve level B2 in a short period of time. You can start with level B1.

This course is relevant when you have:

  • Certificate Dutch level B1
  • CEF-score, at least level B1 for the components language structures, writing and self assessment
  • Intake test advice level B2

This course covers the following themes: leisure time, transport, nature and climate, food and drink, health and safety, work and the economy, science.

DUO loan?
Are you entitled to a loan from the DUO (Educational Administration Service) to help pay for your Dutch course? And this is your first course at Babel? Then you need to have an intake interview with a teacher and do a placement test. This page gives more information about registering for a course with a DUO student loan. Here you can sign up for an intake interview.

We also offer this course in summer.

Sign up

Learning goals

This Upper-Intermediate Dutch (B2) course is aimed to those who wish to achieve level B2 in a short period of time. You can start with level B1. You will need to test your level. This can be done through our online placement test.

This course is relevant when you have:

  • Certificate Nederlands niveau B1
  • CEF-score, at least level B1 for the components language structures, writing and self assessment
  • Intake test advice level B2

Participants can understand the main idea of complex texts, both with concrete and abstract subjects, including technical discourse in the participant’s own professional field. Participants can react fluently and spontaneously, in such a way that a normal exchange is possible with native speakers of Dutch, without any strain on either side.

Participants can produce a clear, detailed text on a wide range of subjects, and they can give their opinion on a topical issue and give advantages as well as disadvantages of different options.

 

Sign up

Method

Different competences will be discussed during the classes. Assignments will be made in class, in groups, pairs or individually. More information about the course programme, homework and suggestions for additional online exercises will be published on the electronic learning environment.

In this course we use the book De finale. You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.

Sign up

Time Investment

This Upper-Intermediate Dutch (B2) course consists of 34 sessions of 1 hour and 45 minutes. The advised self-study load is 90 hours.

 

Sign up

Practical

The language of instruction is Dutch.

In this course we use the book De finale. You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.

Participants should attend at least 80% of the meetings. During the course you will practise with a few mock exams to prepare for the State exam NT2 (Dutch as a second language) programme II. There is no test at the end of this course.

If you work or study at Utrecht University you will receive a 25% discount.

Sign up

  • Starting date: 2 July 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 2 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 4 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 9 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 11 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 16 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 18 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 23 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 25 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 30 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 1 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 6 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 8 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 13 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 15 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 20 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 22 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 27 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 29 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 3 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 5 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 10 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 12 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 17 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 19 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 24 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 26 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 1 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 3 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 8 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 10 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 15 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 17 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 22 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 24 October 2019 09:00 10:45

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 9 September 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 9 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 11 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 16 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 18 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 23 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 25 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 30 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 2 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 7 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 9 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 14 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 16 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 21 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 23 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 28 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 30 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 4 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 6 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 18 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 20 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 25 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 27 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 2 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 4 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 9 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 11 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 16 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 18 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 6 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 8 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Monday 13 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 15 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Monday 20 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 22 January 2020 18:00 19:45

    Sign up