Upper-Intermediate Dutch course (B2)

Level: Upper-Intermediate (B1/B2)

Do you speak Dutch but lack the skills to effortlessly carry on a conversation about uncommon topics? This course deals with the four skills listening, reading, writing and speaking. You work towards language level B2.

Do you want to make use of the STAP budget? Please follow the steps on this page.

880,-

Register

Starting from 6 September 2022

+ 8 more dates

About the course

This advanced course prepares you for the Staatsexamen NT2 programma 2. It deals with the four skills listening, reading, writing and speaking, and there will be time to repeat and expand your knowledge of grammar and vocabulary.

In this course you work towards language level B2. The course is suitable if you have completed our B1 course or if you have attained B1 level via another route. Would you like to know your current language level? Try our free language level test!

DUO loan?

Are you entitled to a loan from the DUO to help pay for your Dutch course? And this is your first course at Babel? Then you need to have an intake interview with a teacher and do a placement test. This page gives more information about registering for a course with a DUO student loan. Here you can sign up for an intake interview.

Register

Learning goals

In this course you work towards language level B2.

After completing the course you will be able to:

  • understand the main idea of complex texts, both with concrete and abstract subjects, including technical discourse in the participant’s own professional field. Participants can react fluently and spontaneously, in such a way that a normal exchange is possible with native speakers of Dutch, without any strain on either side.
  • produce a clear, detailed text on a wide range of subjects, and they can give their opinion on a topical issue and give advantages as well as disadvantages of different options.

Register

Method

  • In this course we use the book ‘De finale‘. This book is especially designed to prepare highly educated people for programme II of the Staatsexamen NT2. Besides practical assignments and exercises that also come back on the exam, the book also contains a language aid with practical tips and a reference book for grammar.
  • Assignments will be made in class, in groups, pairs or individually.

Register

Time Investment

  • This Upper-Intermediate Dutch (B2) course consists of 34 sessions of 1 hour and 45 minutes at Babel in Utrecht or the virtual classroom.
  • During the meetings, you work in groups, in pairs or alone on various assignments that we discuss in class. The teacher offers personal guidance when you need it.
  • We expect you to actively participate in the lessons and to spend a total of approximately 8 hours per week on self-study.

Register

Practical

  • The language of instruction is Dutch.
  • In this course we use the book De finale. You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please make sure you bring your books to the first session.
  • During the course you will practise with a few mock exams to prepare for the State exam NT2 (Dutch as a second language) programme II.
  • If you work or study at Utrecht University you will receive a 15% discount. Please register with your UU email address. Your registration will then be processed automatically.

Register

Schedule

  • Starting date: 6 September 2022 (Utrecht)
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 6 September 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 8 September 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 13 September 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 15 September 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 20 September 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 22 September 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 27 September 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 29 September 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 4 October 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 6 October 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 11 October 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 13 October 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 18 October 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 20 October 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 25 October 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 27 October 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 1 November 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 3 November 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 15 November 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 17 November 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 22 November 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 24 November 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 29 November 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 1 December 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 6 December 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 8 December 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 13 December 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 15 December 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 20 December 2022 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 22 December 2022 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 3 January 2023 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 5 January 2023 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 10 January 2023 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 12 January 2023 09:00 10:45

    Register

  • Starting date: 6 September 2022 (Virtual Classroom)
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 6 September 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 8 September 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 13 September 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 15 September 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 20 September 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 22 September 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 27 September 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 29 September 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 4 October 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 6 October 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 11 October 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 13 October 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 18 October 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 20 October 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 25 October 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 27 October 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 1 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 3 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 15 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 17 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 22 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 24 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 29 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 1 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 6 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 8 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 13 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 15 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 20 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 22 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 3 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 5 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 10 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 12 January 2023 18:00 19:45

    Register

  • Starting date: 14 November 2022 (Virtual Classroom)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 14 November 2022 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 17 November 2022 20:00 21:45
    Monday 21 November 2022 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 24 November 2022 20:00 21:45
    Monday 28 November 2022 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 1 December 2022 20:00 21:45
    Monday 5 December 2022 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 8 December 2022 20:00 21:45
    Monday 12 December 2022 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 15 December 2022 20:00 21:45
    Monday 19 December 2022 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 22 December 2022 20:00 21:45
    Monday 2 January 2023 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 5 January 2023 20:00 21:45
    Monday 9 January 2023 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 12 January 2023 20:00 21:45
    Monday 16 January 2023 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 19 January 2023 20:00 21:45
    Monday 23 January 2023 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 26 January 2023 20:00 21:45
    Monday 6 February 2023 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 9 February 2023 20:00 21:45
    Monday 13 February 2023 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 16 February 2023 20:00 21:45
    Monday 20 February 2023 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 23 February 2023 20:00 21:45
    Monday 27 February 2023 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 2 March 2023 20:00 21:45
    Monday 6 March 2023 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 9 March 2023 20:00 21:45
    Monday 13 March 2023 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 16 March 2023 20:00 21:45
    Monday 20 March 2023 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 23 March 2023 20:00 21:45

    Register

  • Starting date: 14 November 2022 (Virtual Classroom)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 14 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 16 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Monday 21 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 23 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Monday 28 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 30 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Monday 5 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 7 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Monday 12 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 14 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Monday 19 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 21 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Monday 2 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 4 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Monday 9 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 11 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Monday 16 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 18 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Monday 23 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 25 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Monday 6 February 2023 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 8 February 2023 18:00 19:45
    Monday 13 February 2023 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 15 February 2023 18:00 19:45
    Monday 20 February 2023 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 22 February 2023 18:00 19:45
    Monday 27 February 2023 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 1 March 2023 18:00 19:45
    Monday 6 March 2023 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 8 March 2023 18:00 19:45
    Monday 13 March 2023 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 15 March 2023 18:00 19:45
    Monday 20 March 2023 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 22 March 2023 18:00 19:45

    Register

  • Starting date: 15 November 2022 (Utrecht)
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 15 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 17 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 22 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 24 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 29 November 2022 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 1 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 6 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 8 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 13 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 15 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 20 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 22 December 2022 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 3 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 5 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 10 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 12 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 17 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 24 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 26 January 2023 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 7 February 2023 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 9 February 2023 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 14 February 2023 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 16 February 2023 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 21 February 2023 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 23 February 2023 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 28 February 2023 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 2 March 2023 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 7 March 2023 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 9 March 2023 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 14 March 2023 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 16 March 2023 15:15 17:00
    Tuesday 21 March 2023 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 23 March 2023 15:15 17:00

    Register

  • Starting date: 15 November 2022 (Utrecht)
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 15 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 17 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 22 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 24 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 29 November 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 1 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 6 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 8 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 13 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 15 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 20 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 22 December 2022 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 3 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 5 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 10 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 12 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 17 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 19 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 24 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 26 January 2023 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 7 February 2023 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 9 February 2023 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 14 February 2023 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 16 February 2023 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 21 February 2023 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 23 February 2023 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 28 February 2023 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 2 March 2023 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 7 March 2023 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 9 March 2023 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 14 March 2023 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 16 March 2023 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 21 March 2023 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 23 March 2023 18:00 19:45

    Register

Do the free testTest your language level

Would you like to know your current language level? Babel offers a free language placement test! You will receive personal advice from one of our teachers about your current level and which language course suits you best.