Intermediate Dutch – intensive course (B1)

Level: Intermediate (A2/B1)

This pre-intermediate course covers the four skills listening, reading, writing and speaking. In addition, we will look at Dutch grammar and Dutch vocabulary. In this course, you work towards language level B1. You have 4 classes a week, instead of two in the regular course.

880,-

Register

Starting from 5 September 2022

+ 4 more dates

About the course

This course allows you to enter into conversation with native Dutch speakers with more self-confidence. During the course, we look at subjects such as studying, working, living together, housing situations, politics and art.

This course is aimed to those who wish to achieve level B1 in a short period of time. The course is therefore suitable if you have completed the Dutch A2 course or if you have attained A2 level via another route. Would you like to know your current language level? Try our free language level test!

DUO loan?

Are you entitled to a loan from the DUO to help pay for your Dutch course? And this is your first course at Babel? Then you need to have an intake interview with a teacher and do a placement test. This page gives more information about registering for a course with a DUO student loan. Here you can sign up for an intake interview.

Register

Learning goals

In this course, you work towards language level B1.

After completing this course, you are able to:

  • understand the most important aspects of clear standard texts on subjects that they frequently come across at work, at school or during their leisure time.
  • deal with most situations that can arise while travelling in areas where Dutch is spoken.
  • produce simple texts on subjects that are familiar or that are of interest to them.
  • describe experiences and occurrences, dreams, expectations and ambitions, and you can briefly explain your opinions and intentions.

Register

Method

  • The course material we use is De sprong, a book which has been specially developed for learners with a higher educational level who have already mastered the basics of Dutch, but who are not yet ready to take Programme 2 of the State Exam in Dutch.
  • During the meetings you work in groups, in pairs or alone. The language of instruction is Dutch. The meetings are always led by an experienced teacher who is a professional in personal coaching. In this way, we ensure that you get the best results from yourself.

Register

Time Investment

  • This Intermediate Dutch (B1) course consists of 34 sessions of 1 hour and 45 minutes at Babel in Utrecht or the vitual classroom.
  • To ensure that you learn as much as possible, we expect you to spend about eight hours a week on self-study. Of course, you will receive study material and assignments for this, which will be discussed during the meetings.

Register

Practical

  • The language of instruction is Dutch.
  • In this course we use the book ‘De sprong’. You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.
  • Participants should attend at least 80% of the meetings. At the end of the first half of the course, there will be listening, reading, writing and speaking tests. In addition there will be a final test on speaking and writing.
  • If you work or study at Utrecht University you will receive a 15% discount. Please register with your UU email address. Your registration will then be processed automatically.

Register

  • Starting date: 5 September 2022 (Utrecht)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 5 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 6 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 8 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 9 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 12 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 13 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 15 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 16 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 19 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 20 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 22 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 23 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 26 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 27 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 29 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 30 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 3 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 4 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 6 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 7 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 10 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 11 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 13 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 14 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 17 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 18 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 20 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 21 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 24 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 25 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 27 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 28 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 31 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 1 November 2022 13:15 15:00

    Register

  • Starting date: 5 September 2022 (Virtual Classroom)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 5 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 6 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 8 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 9 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 12 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 13 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 15 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 16 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 19 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 20 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 22 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 23 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 26 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 27 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 29 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 30 September 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 3 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 4 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 6 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 7 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 10 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 11 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 13 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 14 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 17 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 18 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 20 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 21 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 24 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 25 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 27 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 28 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 31 October 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 1 November 2022 13:15 15:00

    Register

  • Starting date: 3 October 2022 (Utrecht)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 3 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 4 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 6 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 7 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 10 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 11 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 13 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 14 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 17 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 18 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 20 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 21 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 24 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 25 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 27 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 28 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 31 October 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 1 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 3 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 4 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 14 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 15 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 17 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 18 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 21 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 22 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 24 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 25 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 28 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 29 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 1 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 2 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 5 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 6 December 2022 11:00 12:45

    Register

  • Starting date: 14 November 2022 (Utrecht)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 14 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 15 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 17 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 18 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 21 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 22 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 24 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 25 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 28 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 29 November 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 1 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 2 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 5 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 6 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 8 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 9 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 12 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 13 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 15 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 16 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 19 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 20 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 22 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Friday 23 December 2022 13:15 15:00
    Monday 2 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 3 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 5 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Friday 6 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Monday 9 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 10 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 12 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Friday 13 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Monday 16 January 2023 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 17 January 2023 13:15 15:00

    Register

  • Starting date: 14 November 2022 (Virtual Classroom)
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 14 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 15 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 17 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 18 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 21 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 22 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 24 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 25 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 28 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 29 November 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 1 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 2 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 5 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 6 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 8 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 9 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 12 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 13 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 15 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 16 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 19 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 20 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 22 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Friday 23 December 2022 11:00 12:45
    Monday 2 January 2023 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 3 January 2023 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 5 January 2023 11:00 12:45
    Friday 6 January 2023 11:00 12:45
    Monday 9 January 2023 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 10 January 2023 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 12 January 2023 11:00 12:45
    Friday 13 January 2023 11:00 12:45
    Monday 16 January 2023 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 17 January 2023 11:00 12:45

    Register

Do the free testTest your language level

Would you like to know your current language level? Babel offers a free language placement test! You will receive personal advice from one of our teachers about your current level and which language course suits you best.