Elementary Dutch: Intensive Course (A)

This beginner course covers the four skills listening, reading, writing and speaking. In addition, we will look at the basics of Dutch grammar and Dutch vocabulary.

€730,00

Sign up

Starting from 4 February 2019

About the Elementary Dutch: Intensive Course (A) course

Learn Dutch

This Elementary Dutch: Intensive Course (A) course is aimed to those who wish to achieve level A2 in a short period of time.

At the end of this course, participants can understand sentences and frequently used expressions that are related to daily life (such as personal data, relatives, shopping, work). They can communicate in simple and every-day tasks. They can use simple words to describe aspects of their own background, their immediate surroundings and their needs and desires.

The following themes will be used: getting to know each other, on the road, going out, making a date, relatives, parties, going shopping, living accommodation, work, leisure time, travelling, visiting the doctor, asking for information.

DUO loan?
Are you entitled to a loan from the DUO (Educational Administration Service) to help pay for your Dutch course? Then you need to have an intake interview with a teacher first. This page gives more information about registering for a course with a DUO loan. Here you can sign up for an intake interview.

Sign up

Learning goals

This Elementary Dutch: Intensive Course (A) course is aimed to those who wish to achieve level A2 in a short period of time.

At the end of this course, participants can understand sentences and frequently used expressions that are related to daily life (such as personal data, relatives, shopping, work). They can communicate in simple and every-day tasks. They can use simple words to describe aspects of their own background, their immediate surroundings and their needs and desires.

Sign up

Method

Different competences will be discussed during the classes. Assignments will be made in class, in groups, pairs or individually. More information about the course programme, homework and suggestions for additional online exercises will be published on the electronic learning environment.

In this course we use the book De opmaat. You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.

Sign up

Time Investment

This Elementary Dutch: Intensive Course (A) consists of 34 sessions of 1 hour and 45 minutes at Babel in Utrecht. The advised self-study load is 90 hours.

Sign up

Practical

The language of instruction is Dutch.

In this course we use the book De opmaat. You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.

Participants should attend at least 80% of meetings. At the end of the first half of the course, there will be listening, reading, writing and speaking tests. In addition there will be a final test on speaking and writing.

If you work or study at Utrecht University you will receive a 25% discount.

Sign up

  • Starting date: 4 February 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 4 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 5 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 7 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Friday 8 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 11 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 12 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 14 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Friday 15 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 18 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 19 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 21 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Friday 22 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 25 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 26 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 28 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Friday 1 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 4 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 5 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 7 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Friday 8 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 11 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 12 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 14 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Friday 15 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 18 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 19 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 21 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Friday 22 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 25 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 26 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 28 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Friday 29 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 2 April 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 4 April 2019 11:00 12:45

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 4 February 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 4 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 5 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 7 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 8 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 11 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 12 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 14 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 15 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 18 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 19 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 21 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 22 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 25 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 26 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 28 February 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 1 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 4 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 5 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 7 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 8 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 11 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 12 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 14 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 15 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 18 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 19 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 21 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 22 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 25 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 26 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 28 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 29 March 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 1 April 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 2 April 2019 09:00 10:45

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 15 April 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 15 April 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 16 April 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 18 April 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 19 April 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 23 April 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 25 April 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 26 April 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 29 April 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 30 April 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 2 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 3 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 6 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 7 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 9 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 10 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 13 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 14 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 16 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 17 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 20 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 21 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 23 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 24 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 27 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 28 May 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 3 June 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 4 June 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 6 June 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 7 June 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 11 June 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 13 June 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 14 June 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 17 June 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 18 June 2019 09:00 10:45

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 15 April 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 15 April 2019 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 17 April 2019 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 18 April 2019 15:15 17:00
    Friday 19 April 2019 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 24 April 2019 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 25 April 2019 15:15 17:00
    Friday 26 April 2019 15:15 17:00
    Monday 29 April 2019 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 1 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 2 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Friday 3 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Monday 6 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 8 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 9 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Friday 10 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Monday 13 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 15 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 16 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Friday 17 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Monday 20 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 22 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 23 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Friday 24 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Monday 27 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 29 May 2019 15:15 17:00
    Monday 3 June 2019 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 5 June 2019 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 6 June 2019 15:15 17:00
    Friday 7 June 2019 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 12 June 2019 15:15 17:00
    Thursday 13 June 2019 15:15 17:00
    Friday 14 June 2019 15:15 17:00
    Monday 17 June 2019 15:15 17:00
    Wednesday 19 June 2019 15:15 17:00

    Sign up