Elementary Dutch: Intensive Course (A)

This beginner course covers the four skills listening, reading, writing and speaking. In addition, we will look at the basics of Dutch grammar and Dutch vocabulary.

€730,00

Sign up

Starting from 1 July 2019

About the Elementary Dutch: Intensive Course (A) course

Learn Dutch

This Elementary Dutch: Intensive Course (A) course is aimed to those who wish to achieve level A2 in a short period of time.

At the end of this course, participants can understand sentences and frequently used expressions that are related to daily life (such as personal data, relatives, shopping, work). They can communicate in simple and every-day tasks. They can use simple words to describe aspects of their own background, their immediate surroundings and their needs and desires.

The following themes will be used: getting to know each other, on the road, going out, making a date, relatives, parties, going shopping, living accommodation, work, leisure time, travelling, visiting the doctor, asking for information.

DUO loan?
Are you entitled to a loan from the DUO (Educational Administration Service) to help pay for your Dutch course? Then you need to have an intake interview with a teacher first. This page gives more information about registering for a course with a DUO loan. Here you can sign up for an intake interview.

Sign up

Learning goals

This Elementary Dutch: Intensive Course (A) course is aimed to those who wish to achieve level A2 in a short period of time.

At the end of this course, participants can understand sentences and frequently used expressions that are related to daily life (such as personal data, relatives, shopping, work). They can communicate in simple and every-day tasks. They can use simple words to describe aspects of their own background, their immediate surroundings and their needs and desires.

Sign up

Method

Different competences will be discussed during the classes. Assignments will be made in class, in groups, pairs or individually. More information about the course programme, homework and suggestions for additional online exercises will be published on the electronic learning environment.

In this course we use the book De opmaat. You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.

Sign up

Time Investment

This Elementary Dutch: Intensive Course (A) consists of 34 sessions of 1 hour and 45 minutes at Babel in Utrecht. The advised self-study load is 90 hours.

Sign up

Practical

The language of instruction is Dutch.

In this course we use the book De opmaat. You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.

Participants should attend at least 80% of meetings. At the end of the first half of the course, there will be listening, reading, writing and speaking tests. In addition there will be a final test on speaking and writing.

If you work or study at Utrecht University you will receive a 25% discount.

Sign up

  • Starting date: 1 July 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 1 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 3 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 4 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 5 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 8 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 10 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 11 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 12 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 15 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 17 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 18 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 19 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 22 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 24 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 25 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 26 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 29 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 31 July 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 1 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 2 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 5 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 7 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 8 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 9 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 12 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 14 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 15 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 16 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 19 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 21 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 22 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 23 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 26 August 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 28 August 2019 09:00 10:45

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 9 September 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 9 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 10 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 12 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 13 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 16 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 17 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 19 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 20 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 23 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 24 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 26 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 27 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 30 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 1 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 3 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 4 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 7 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 8 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 10 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 11 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 14 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 15 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 17 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 18 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 21 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 22 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 24 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 25 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 28 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 29 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Thursday 31 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Friday 1 November 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 4 November 2019 09:00 10:45
    Tuesday 5 November 2019 09:00 10:45

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 9 September 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 9 September 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 10 September 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 11 September 2019 13:15 15:00
    Friday 13 September 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 16 September 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 17 September 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 18 September 2019 13:15 15:00
    Friday 20 September 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 23 September 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 24 September 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 25 September 2019 13:15 15:00
    Friday 27 September 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 30 September 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 1 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 2 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Friday 4 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 7 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 8 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 9 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Friday 11 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 14 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 15 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 16 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Friday 18 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 21 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 22 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 23 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Friday 25 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 28 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 29 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Wednesday 30 October 2019 13:15 15:00
    Friday 1 November 2019 13:15 15:00
    Monday 4 November 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 5 November 2019 13:15 15:00

    Sign up