English Cambridge Preliminary

Would you like to develop your ability to communicate in English for practical tasks and situations and accomplish this in an effective way while making considerable progress? This intermediate course will help you on your way.

€375,00

Sign up

Starting from 16 April 2019

About the English Cambridge Preliminary course

Do you need to improve your English for work or for your studies? Would you like to prepare for an an internationally recognized qualification? This fast-track course will help you on your way. We will use a great variety of exercises enabling you to work on all your language skills.

The course focuses on:

  • Increase your knowledge of grammar;
  • Expand your vocabulary and idioms;
  • Increase your general conversational skills;
  • Develop better reading and comprehension skills;
  • Improve/correct your pronunciation;
  • Improve your listening skills;
  • Develop your writing skills;
  • Acquire self-study skills.

Conversation practice about everyday topics will increase your vocabulary and fluency. Grammar revision will make you more confident about your accuracy in using English. This course will also provide you with the knowledge you need for more advanced courses.

Sign up

Learning goals

This course is aimed at those with a higher educational background who wish to achieve level B1+ in a short period of time. You can start with level A2+.

This intensive course (2 evenings per week) aims to improve listening, speaking, reading and writing skills at a faster pace. Self-study strategies will also be covered.

 

 

Sign up

Method

During the course, the focus is on speaking and practical, hands-on exercises using task-based activities. Grammar revision and vocabulary work are covered in class and on a self-study basis.

You will be working with the Cambridge Objective Preliminary book and workbook. You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.

 

 

Sign up

Time Investment

This course consists of 18 sessions of 1 hour 45 minutes at Babel in Utrecht. The advised self-study load is 6-8 hours a week.

 

 

Sign up

Practical

The language of instruction is English.

You will be working with the Cambridge Objective Preliminary book and workbook. You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.

Active participation is preferred during the course meetings and ample time for self-study, preferably spread out evenly over the week. You will receive a certificate of participation if you attend at least 80% of the meetings.

If you work or study at Utrecht University you will receive a 25% discount.

Sign up

  • Starting date: 16 April 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 16 April 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 18 April 2019 20:00 21:45
    Tuesday 23 April 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 25 April 2019 20:00 21:45
    Tuesday 30 April 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 2 May 2019 20:00 21:45
    Tuesday 7 May 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 9 May 2019 20:00 21:45
    Tuesday 14 May 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 16 May 2019 20:00 21:45
    Tuesday 21 May 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 23 May 2019 20:00 21:45
    Tuesday 28 May 2019 20:00 21:45
    Tuesday 4 June 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 6 June 2019 20:00 21:45
    Tuesday 11 June 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 13 June 2019 20:00 21:45
    Tuesday 18 June 2019 20:00 21:45

    Sign up