English Cambridge First

Would you like to develop your English language skills and achieve a solid intermediate English level? During this interactive course, we will help you on your way! You can also take this course if you wish to prepare for the Cambridge First Certificate exam.

€375,00

Sign up

Starting from 16 April 2019

About the English Cambridge First course

We will use a great variety of exercises and classroom activities to work on all your language skills at B2 level.

The course focuses on:

  • increasing general conversational skills;
  • expanding your vocabulary;
  • improving pronunciation;
  • increasing knowledge of grammar;
  • developing reading skills and acquiring self-study skills;
  • improving listening skills;
  • improving writing skills.

We also offer this course in summer.

Sign up

Learning goals

This English Cambridge First is aimed to those who wish to reach level B2 in a short period of time. You can start with level B1+. Please note: this course follows after English level 4. You are not required to have followed the Level 4 course but completing the English placement test is recommended.

This course aims to improve your listening, speaking, reading and writing skills, and learn self-study strategies. The course is also suitable for those who wish to sit the Cambridge First Certificate exam.

Sign up

Method

The focus in the course sessions is on speaking and practical exercises with an emphasis on cooperative work and task-based activities. Grammar revision and vocabulary work are covered both in class and on a self-study basis.

You will be working with the Cambridge Objective First Certificate book. You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.

Sign up

Time Investment

This English Cambridge First course consists of 18 sessions of 1 hour 45 minutes at Babel in Utrecht. The advised self-study load is 2-3 hours per session.

Sign up

Practical

The language of instruction is English. Active participation is essential if you want to benefit most from this course. Also allow yourself plenty of  time for self-study. You will receive a certificate of participation if you attend at least 14 meetings.

If you work or study at Utrecht University, you will receive a 25% discount.

Sign up

This course is included in two different programmes. You can choose between meeting once or twice a week:

  • Starting date: 16 April 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 16 April 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 18 April 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 23 April 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 25 April 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 30 April 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 2 May 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 7 May 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 9 May 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 14 May 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 16 May 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 21 May 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 23 May 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 28 May 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 4 June 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 6 June 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 11 June 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 13 June 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 18 June 2019 18:00 19:45

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 11 September 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Wednesday 11 September 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 18 September 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 25 September 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 2 October 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 9 October 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 16 October 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 23 October 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 30 October 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 6 November 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 20 November 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 27 November 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 4 December 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 11 December 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 18 December 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 8 January 2020 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 15 January 2020 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 22 January 2020 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 29 January 2020 11:00 12:45

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 12 September 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Thursday 12 September 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 19 September 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 26 September 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 3 October 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 10 October 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 17 October 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 24 October 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 31 October 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 7 November 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 21 November 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 28 November 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 12 December 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 19 December 2019 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 9 January 2020 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 16 January 2020 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 23 January 2020 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 30 January 2020 20:00 21:45
    Thursday 6 February 2020 20:00 21:45

    Sign up