Intermediate Dutch (B1)

This pre-intermediate course covers the four skills listening, reading, writing and speaking. In addition, we will look at Dutch grammar and Dutch vocabulary.

 

€730,00

Sign up

Starting from 16 April 2019

About the Intermediate Dutch (B1) course

Learn Dutch

This Intermediate Dutch (B1) course is aimed to those who wish to achieve level B1 in a short period of time. You can start with level A2.

The topics that will be dealt with are more abstract than in the beginner course. The following themes will be used: work and leisure time, society, communication, weather and geography, politics, art, energy and Holland.

DUO loan?
Are you entitled to a loan from the DUO (Educational Administration Service) to help pay for your Dutch course? And this is your first course at Babel? Then you need to have an intake interview with a teacher and do a placement test. This page gives more information about registering for a course with a DUO student loan. Here you can sign up for an intake interview.

We also offer this course in summer.

Sign up

Learning goals

This Intermediate Dutch (B1) course is aimed to those who wish to achieve level B1 in a short period of time. You can start with level A2. You will need to test your level. This can be done through our online placement test.

Participants can understand the most important aspects of clear standard texts on subjects that they frequently come across at work, at school or during their leisure time. They can deal with most situations that can arise while travelling in areas where Dutch is spoken. They can produce simple texts on subjects that are familiar or that are of interest to them. They can describe experiences and occurrences, dreams, expectations and ambitions, and they can briefly explain their opinions and intentions.

 

 

Sign up

Method

Different competences will be discussed during the classes. Assignments will be made in class, in groups, pairs or individually. More information about the course programme, homework and suggestions for additional online exercises will be published on the electronic learning environment.

In this course we use the book De sprong. You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.

 

Sign up

Time Investment

This Intermediate Dutch (B1) course consists of 34 sessions of 1 hour and 45 minutes at Babel in Utrecht. The advised self-study load is 90 hours.

 

Sign up

Practical

The language of instruction is Dutch.

In this course we use the book De sprong. You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.

Participants should attend at least 80% of the meetings. At the end of the first half of the course, there will be listening, reading, writing and speaking tests. In addition there will be a final test on speaking and writing.

If you work or study at Utrecht University you will receive a 25% discount.

Sign up

  • Starting date: 16 April 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 16 April 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 18 April 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 23 April 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 25 April 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 30 April 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 2 May 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 7 May 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 9 May 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 14 May 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 16 May 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 21 May 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 23 May 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 28 May 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 4 June 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 6 June 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 11 June 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 13 June 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 18 June 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 20 June 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 2 July 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 4 July 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 9 July 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 11 July 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 16 July 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 18 July 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 23 July 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 25 July 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 30 July 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 1 August 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 6 August 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 8 August 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 13 August 2019 13:15 15:00
    Thursday 15 August 2019 13:15 15:00
    Tuesday 20 August 2019 13:15 15:00

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 1 July 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 1 July 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 3 July 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 8 July 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 10 July 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 15 July 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 17 July 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 22 July 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 24 July 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 29 July 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 31 July 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 5 August 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 7 August 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 12 August 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 14 August 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 19 August 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 21 August 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 2 September 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 4 September 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 9 September 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 11 September 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 16 September 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 18 September 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 23 September 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 25 September 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 30 September 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 2 October 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 7 October 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 9 October 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 14 October 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 16 October 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 21 October 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 23 October 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 28 October 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 30 October 2019 11:00 12:45

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 9 September 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 9 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 11 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 16 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 18 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 23 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 25 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 30 September 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 2 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 7 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 9 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 14 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 16 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 21 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 23 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 28 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 30 October 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 4 November 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 6 November 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 18 November 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 20 November 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 25 November 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 27 November 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 2 December 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 4 December 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 9 December 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 11 December 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 16 December 2019 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 18 December 2019 09:00 10:45
    Monday 6 January 2020 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 8 January 2020 09:00 10:45
    Monday 13 January 2020 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 15 January 2020 09:00 10:45
    Monday 20 January 2020 09:00 10:45
    Wednesday 22 January 2020 09:00 10:45

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 9 September 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 9 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 11 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 16 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 18 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 23 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 25 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 30 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 2 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 7 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 9 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 14 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 16 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 21 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 23 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 28 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 30 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 4 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 6 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 18 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 20 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 25 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 27 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 2 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 4 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 9 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 11 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 16 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 18 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Monday 6 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 8 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Monday 13 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 15 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Monday 20 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Wednesday 22 January 2020 18:00 19:45

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 10 September 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 10 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 12 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 17 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 19 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 24 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 26 September 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 1 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 3 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 8 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 10 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 15 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 17 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 22 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 24 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 29 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 31 October 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 5 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 7 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 19 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 21 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 26 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 28 November 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 3 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 10 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 12 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 17 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 19 December 2019 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 7 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 9 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 14 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 16 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 21 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Thursday 23 January 2020 18:00 19:45
    Tuesday 28 January 2020 18:00 19:45

    Sign up