Advanced Dutch B2+

Have you passed the State Exam in Dutch as a Foreign Language (Staatsexamen NT2), level 2, or have you reached an equivalent level, but do you still need to improve your ability in Dutch? Then this course is the right one for you.

 

€445,00

Sign up

Starting from 4 February 2019

About the Advanced Dutch B2+ course

Learn Dutch Utrecht

In this course, you will improve your speaking and writing ability and refresh and/or expand your knowledge of Dutch grammar:

  • Speaking: you will practice this skill by means of discussions, pair work and brief presentations. Topics are mainly drawn from current affairs and are provided by the teacher, but there is also space for your own contributions.
  • Writing: you will practice this skill by means of a variety of written tasks, such as writing emails, letters, brief notes and reports. Some of these tasks will be linked to the topics you have been speaking about, but others may be chosen in other areas.
  • Grammar support: a number of areas of grammar (for example, sentence structure, verb tenses, prepositions, the word ‘er’, and so on) will be covered to refresh and expand your knowledge, using the course book Beter Nederlands deel 1.
  • Reading: to improve your reading ability, up-to-date texts will be used as a basis for discussion and/or writing tasks. Your teacher will also ask you to choose a book to read and speak about in small groups.

Sign up

Learning goals

This Advanced Dutch B2+ course is aimed to those who wish to achieve level B2+ in a short period of time.

You need to have passed the State Exam in Dutch as a Foreign Language (Staatsexamen NT2), level 2, or to have completed a Babel course at B2 level. If you have not previously taken a course at Babel, we request that you complete the intake test on our website in order to determine your level.

After this course:

  • You will be able to express yourself more flexibly and have more confidence to take part in a wide range of conversations and discussions.
  • You will be able to write clear emails and well-structured short texts on a variety of topics.
  • You will have a better grasp of Dutch grammar and sentence structure, which is an essential aspect of improving your writing skills.

Sign up

Method

Each lesson will address all the skills. During the class, activities will take place in groups, pairs, individually or as a whole group. An online learning platform will provide information about the contents of the lessons, the homework tasks and suggestions for additional online practice exercises.

The book Nederlands naar perfectie will be used for improving grammar. For speaking and writing skills, you will receive a variety of handouts from the teacher, which can be collected in a course folder. Classroom tasks may be added or altered at students’ request during the course.

You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.

 

Sign up

Time Investment

This Advanced Dutch B2+ course consists of 17 sessions of 1 hour 75 minutes at Babel in Utrecht. The advised self-study load is 35 hours.

 

 

 

 

Sign up

Practical

The language of instruction is Dutch.

The book Nederlands naar perfectie will be used for improving grammar. For speaking and writing skills, you will receive a variety of handouts from the teacher, which can be collected in a course folder. Classroom tasks may be added or altered at students’ request during the course.

You can order all books required for the course on our special book page. Please ensure you bring your books to the first session.

Students must attend a minimum of 80% of the lessons and take an active part in class. During the course the teacher will give you regular feedback on your speaking and writing tasks and (if you have given one) on your presentation. This course is also good preparation for the Advanced Dutch C1+ course.

If you work or study at Utrecht University you will receive a 25% discount.

Sign up

  • Starting date: 4 February 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 4 February 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 11 February 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 18 February 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 25 February 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 4 March 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 11 March 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 18 March 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 25 March 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 1 April 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 15 April 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 29 April 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 6 May 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 13 May 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 20 May 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 27 May 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 3 June 2019 20:00 21:45
    Monday 17 June 2019 20:00 21:45

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 5 February 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Tuesday 5 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 7 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 12 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 14 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 19 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 21 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 26 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 28 February 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 5 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 7 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 12 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 14 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 19 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 21 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 26 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Thursday 28 March 2019 11:00 12:45
    Tuesday 2 April 2019 11:00 12:45

    Sign up

  • Starting date: 15 April 2019
    Day Date Start End
    Monday 15 April 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 17 April 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 24 April 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 29 April 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 1 May 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 6 May 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 8 May 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 13 May 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 15 May 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 20 May 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 22 May 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 27 May 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 29 May 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 3 June 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 5 June 2019 11:00 12:45
    Wednesday 12 June 2019 11:00 12:45
    Monday 17 June 2019 11:00 12:45

    Sign up